Yukon College

Yukon College

Yukon College is a university and community college in the Canadian territory of Yukon. Its main campus is in Whitehorse, Yukon. The college was founded in 1983, subsuming the Yukon Vocational and Technical Training Centre that had been in operation since the 1960s. The chancellor is Geraldine Van Bibber.

Yukon College offers certificates, diplomas and degrees through 5 academic areas – the School of Access, School of Science, Trades and Technology, School of Health, Education and Human Services, School of Liberal Arts, and the School of Management, Tourism and Hospitality. The college also provides the first two years of university transfer and is a respected member of the BC Council on Admissions and Transfer.

This broad range of programming allows Yukoners to stay in the north while pursuing postsecondary studies. It also accommodates contract training demands by local industry and government in a range of specialties. Programming is delivered from campus to campus, across the Yukon, through video-conferencing and on-line learning technology. The President’s Committee on First Nation Initiatives with representatives from all fourteen Yukon First Nations, influences programming and services delivered at the college.

University highlights

  • Yukon College has 13 campuses located across the Yukon
  • The College has earned a reputation for quality instruction and small class sizes, providing students with an outstanding educational experience
  • The College offers several university transfer programs, degrees, career and trades training, as well as high school upgrading
  • Beautiful and spacious college and residence facilities
Facebook Comments

No Comments

Add your review

Your email address will not be published.