University of Western Sydney

University of Western Sydney

Western Sydney University, formerly the University of Western Sydney, is an Australian multi-campus university in the Greater Western region of Sydney. It is a provider of undergraduate, postgraduate and higher research degrees with campuses in Bankstown, Blacktown, Campbelltown, Hawkesbury, Parramatta, and Penrith. It is currently ranked in the top 400 in the world in the 2014 QS World University Rankings and 19th in Australia in 2015.

The university in its current form was founded in 1989 under the terms of the University of Western Sydney Act, 1988, which created a federated network university with an amalgamation between two trade schools – Nepean College of Advanced Education and Hawkesbury Agricultural College. The Macarthur Institute of Higher Education was incorporated into the university in 1989, and in 2001 the University of Western Sydney was restructured as a single multi-campus university rather than as a federation. In 2015, the university underwent a rebranding which resulted in a change in name from the University of Western Sydney to Western Sydney University.

University highlights

  • Over 4,000 international students study at UWS every year from around the world: India, China, Canada, Germany, Korea, Thailand, Jordan, and more
  • Many of its courses have been designed to meet the needs of industry and professional organizations
  • University’s industry-trained academics are in touch with the professional world and help provide students with the best possible resources to succeed in studies
  • Provides a challenging study environment which aims to equip today’s students with solutions for tomorrow’s workplace
  • Has campus populations of 4000 to 6000 students per campus which enables staff and students to interact more closely
Facebook Comments