University of Malaya, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

University of Malaya, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

The university was founded in 1949 as a public-funded tertiary institution. Today, it has more than 2,500 faculty members. In 2012, UM was granted autonomy status by the Ministry of Higher Education. Presently, the University is divided into 12 faculties, 2 academies and 3 Centres, namely: Faculty of Law, Faculty of Engineering, Faculty of Dentistry, Faculty of Medicine, Faculty of Built Environment, Faculty of Economics and Administration, Faculty of Business and Accountancy, Faculty of Education, Faculty of Science, Faculty of Languages and Linguistics, Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences, Faculty of Computer Science and Information Technology, Academy of Malay Studies, Academy of Islamic Studies, Cultural Centre, Sports Centre and Centre for Foundation Studies (University of Malaya).

In 2015, the QS World University Rankings has ranked UM at the 146th place in the world. Also in the same year, the university is ranked 29th place in the QS Asian University Rankings, 3rd in Southeast Asia and is the highest ranked learning institution in Malaysia.

University highlights

  • University of Malaya, or UM, Malaysia’s oldest university, is situated on a 750 acre (309 hectare) campus in the southwest of Kuala Lumpur, the capital of Malaysia
  • Percentage of undergraduates employed at point of convocation-80.5%
  • Total Research Funding of RM184,423,177.08
Facebook Comments