The University of Newcastle

The University of Newcastle

The University of Newcastle informally known as Newcastle University, is an Australian public university established in 1965. It has a primary campus in Callaghan, a suburb of Newcastle, New South Wales. The university also operates campuses in Ourimbah, Port Macquarie, Singapore and the central business districts of Newcastle and Sydney.

Historically, the University of Newcastle Medical School has implemented the problem-based learning system for its undergraduate Bachelor of Medicine program – a system later mandated for use by the Australian Medical Council throughout Australia. It pioneered use of the Undergraduate Medicine and Health Sciences Admission Test (UMAT) in the early 1990s. UMAT has since been accepted widely by different medical schools across Australia as an additional selection criteria.

The University of Newcastle is a member of Universities Australia and the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business.

In 2015 Times Higher Education ranked the University of Newcastle number 2 in Australia and number 30 in the world for universities under 50 years of age.

University highlights

  •  Ranked amongst the top 3% in the world i.e. out of more than 9,000 universities in the world it’s in the top 300
  •  Nearly 73 per cent of graduates find a full-time job within four months of completing their bachelor degree
  •  Ranked in the top 50 universities in the world under 50 years of age
  •  University’s graduates earn a median starting salary that is $2,000 higher than the national average
  •  Ranked as a five star university for research
Facebook Comments