Palawan State University

Palawan State University

The Palawan State University, the first state university in Palawan and in Region IV, traces its humble beginnings to the teacher training institution known as Palawan Teacher’s College (PTC), which was established through Republic Act 4303 on March 2, 1965. Then Congressman Gaudencio Abordo sponsored the bill establishing the college at the then municipality of Puerto Princesa.

The creation of PTC was in response to the need of additional teachers in the province since most of the available educators at that time came from Luzon; and only a handful were willing to be assigned in far-flung areas of the province.

Funded by an initial half-a-million pesos, the university opened night classes to 101 students under the tutelage of 10 faculty members, and 16 support staffs, using four borrowed classrooms from state-funded Palawan National High School.

Its first president was Dr. Walfrido Ponce de Leon, and five different presidents since.

The early days of the institution as a teacher’s College saw its thrust focused solely on education degree. Years later however, the school added new curriculum to address the province’s other educational needs.

In 1984, then Minister of Natural Resources Teodoro Peña sponsored the transition of Palawan Teacher’s College to Palawan State College by virtue of Batas Pambansa Blg. 797, allowing for the university to offer courses in the Art, Sciences and Technology.

University highlights

  • 1st University in Palawan Region
  • Biggest University in Palawan Region – over 16 campus and 20,000+ students
  • Excellent student to faculty ratio of 10:1
  • Very low and subsidized fees
  • About 85% of graduate students receive financial aid
  • 50 acre Campus. 16 campus. 20,000+ students. 2000+ teachers
Facebook Comments

No Comments

Add your review

Your email address will not be published.