Griffith University

Griffith University

Griffith University is a public research university in South East Queensland on the east coast of Australia. Formally founded in 1971, Griffith opened its doors in 1975, introducing Australia’s first degrees in environmental science and Asian studies.

The University is named after Sir Samuel Walker Griffith, who was twice Premier of Queensland and the first Chief Justice of the High Court of Australia. Sir Samuel Griffith played a major role in the Federation of Australia and was the principal author of the Australian constitution.

Opening initially with the one campus at Nathan and 451 students, the University now has five campuses spanning three cities, with the Nathan, Mount Gravatt and South Bank campuses in Brisbane and campuses at Logan and on the Gold Coast. It has over 44,000 students and offers a full suite of undergraduate, postgraduate and research degrees in the areas of business and government, criminology and law, education, engineering and information technology, environment, planning and architecture, health, humanities and languages, music, science and aviation, and visual and creative arts. Griffith is a verdant university and a member of the IRU.

University highlights

  • University is ranked amongst the top 3% of all universities worldwide according to CWTS Leiden Rankings and the QS World University Rankings
  • University also ranked in the top 50 universities under 50 by 2015 QS World University Rankings and 2016 Times Higher Education Rankings
  • Griffith has 15 study areas ranked among the top 200 in the world (2016 QS World Subject Rankings)
    Official partner of the Gold Coast 2018 Commonwealth Games. Scholarships and internships are available
  • The student population is 44,000. Almost a quarter of the enrolments are international students from 130 countries
  • Offers work integrated learning internships that allow students to undertake work related placement as part of their studies
Facebook Comments