Edith Cowan University

Edith Cowan University

Edith Cowan University is an Australian public university located in Perth, Western Australia. It was named after the first woman to be elected to an Australian Parliament, Edith Cowan, and is the only Australian university named after a woman.

ECU is situated in Western Australia, with more than 27,000 students at undergraduate and postgraduate level, approximately 4,300 of whom are international students originating from over 100 countries outside Australia.

ECU was granted university status in 1991 and was formed from an amalgamation of teachers’ colleges with a history dating back to 1902 when the Claremont Teachers College was established; making ECU the modern descendant of the first institution of higher education in Western Australia.

The university offers more than 300 courses across two metropolitan campuses, in Mount Lawley and Joondalup, and a regional campus in the South West, Bunbury, 200 km south of Perth;many courses are also offered for study online. Additionally, the university has partnerships with several education institutions to conduct courses and programs offshore.

University highlights

  • Five star ratings for Teaching Quality and Graduate Starting Salary in the Good Universities Guide, 2015
  • Best value courses to maximise the return on your education investment
  • Offers over 400 courses, including a diverse range of majors, minors and electives
  • Industry-oriented courses which includes practical work placements and real work projects
  • ECU has around 90 exchange partners in 35 countries around the world
  • Highly qualified and experienced faculty
Facebook Comments