Curtin University (Australia)

Curtin University (Australia)

Curtin University is an Australian public research university based in Bentley, Perth, Western Australia. The university is named after the 14th Prime Minister of Australia, John Curtin, and is the largest university in Western Australia, with over 50,000 students at locations including Perth, Margaret River, Kalgoorlie, Malaysia and Singapore.
View of Curtin University Chancellery Building

Curtin Stadium
Curtin was conferred university status after legislation was passed by the Parliament of Western Australia in 1986. Since then, the university has been expanding its presence and has campuses in Singapore and Sarawak. It has ties with 90 exchange universities in 20 countries.The University comprises five main faculties with over 95 specialists centres. The University formerly had a Sydney campus between 2005 & 2016. On 17 September 2015, Curtin University Council made a decision to close its Sydney campus by early 2017.

Curtin University is a member of Australian Technology Network (ATN), and is active in research in a range of academic and practical fields,including Resources and Energy (e.g., petroleum gas), Information and Communication, Health, Ageing and Well-being (Public Health), Communities and Changing Environments, Growth and Prosperity and Creative Writing.

It is the only Western Australian university to produce a PhD recipient of the AINSE gold medal, which is the highest recognition for PhD-level research excellence in Australia and New Zealand.

University highlights

  •  Welcomes more than 50,000 students from over 130 countries which includes more than 17,200 international students
  •  Consistently rated among the world’s top universities by rankings agencies such as the times, QS and Shanghai Jiao tong
  •  In 2012, the QS World university rankings ranked curtin among the world’s top 300
  •  The times also ranked curtin as one of the world’s top 100 universities aged under 50, and number one in Western Australia
  •  It offers opportunities to transfer between campuses, study online, and more
Facebook Comments