Auckland University of Technology

The Auckland University of Technology is a university in New Zealand. It was formed on 1 January 2000 (1895 originally Auckland Technical School) when the Auckland Institute of Technology was granted university status. Its primary campus is on Wellesley Street in Auckland’s Central business district (CBD). AUT has three secondary campuses: North Shore, South, and the Millennium Institute of Sport and Health.

AUT enrolled 27,299 students in 2013, including 3,101 international students from 85 countries, and 1,735 postgraduate students. 87% of students were enrolled in a bachelor’s degree or higher qualification. AUT’s student population is diverse with students having a range of ethnic backgrounds including New Zealand European, Asian, Maori and Pacific Islander. Students also represent a wide age range with 37% of students being over 25. AUT University employed 2,063 full-time equivalent staff in 2011, including both administrative and academic staff members.

University highlights

  • The university ranked 82nd worldwide in the 2011 with a total number of student 40,000
  • The campus has world-class training facilities, athlete accommodation and sports science laboratories
  • AUT became a university in 2000 turning to be the largest and leading university in the country
  • Increased from 2 to 4 campuses, with a new one in Manukau City and added a 2nd the AUT Millennium Campus – in North Shore City
Facebook Comments

No Comments

Add your review

Your email address will not be published.